Easter & Festivities - Antique Russian icons

 

 

The Easter icon of Orthodoxy is the Anastasis, represented by the descent into hell.

 

The icon shows the moment of redemption: Christ, breaking the gates of Hades, draws Adam, Eve and all the righteous to him. As an icon of the main festival within the church year, the Anastasis is located in the iconostasis in the festive row directly above the king's door, in the case of holiday icons in the center.

 

In the Revelation of John (1: 17-18) it says: "I am the first and the last. I was dead and, behold, I live for ever and ever and have the keys to death and hell."

 

In the center of the icon is Jesus Christ standing on the broken gates of Hades, with his right hand pulling Adam up to him by the wrist, in the left a scroll, symbol of the sermon to the dead (1 Pet 3, 19). Behind Adam the kings David and Solomon, but also John the Baptist, caller in the desert and last of the prophets. Adam opposite Eve, who climbs up from the grave like him, and the forefathers, led by Moses, who carries the tablets of the law.

The passage from the Gospel of Matthew (Mt 28, 1-2) “. . . Mary Magdalene and the other Mary came to see the tomb. Suddenly there was a tremendous earthquake, because an angel of the Lord came down from heaven, stepped to the tomb, rolled away the stone and sat on it "is painted in the lower corner. Opposite is the physical resurrection of Christ.

Around, the solemn festivals are represented on holiday icons:

  1. Birth of the Mother of God

  2. Presentation of the Mother of God

  3. The Holy Trinity (Old Testament)

  4. The Annunciation

  5. Birth of Christ

  6. Presentation at the Temple

  7. Baptism of Christ

  8. Entry into Jerusalem

  9. Transfiguration

  10. Ascension

  11. Dormition of the Mother of God

  12. The Exaltation of the Cross

The following festive days are shown on extended holiday icons:

  1. Awakening of Lazarus

  2. Beheading of John

  3. Mother of God Pokrov

  4. Ascension of Elias

Furthermore, the Passion and the 4 Evangelists can also be represented.

Ostern und die Festtage | Hochfeste

Antike russische Ikonen

 

Die Oster-Ikone der Orthodoxie ist die Anastasis, durch die Höllenfahrt dargestellt.

 

Die Ikone zeigt den Augenblick der Erlösung: Christus, die Tore des Hades zerbrechend, zieht Adam, Eva und alle Gerechten zu sich. Als Ikone des Hauptfestes innerhalb des Kir­chenjahres befindet sich die Anastasis in der Ikonostase in der Festtagsreihe direkt über der Königstüre, bei Festtags-Ikonen im Zentrum.

 

In der Offenbarung des Johannes (1, 17-18) heißt es: "Ich bin der Erste und der Letzte. Ich war tot und siehe, ich lebe von Ewigkeit zu Ewigkeit und habe die Schlüssel zu Tod und Hölle."

 

Im Zentrum der Ikone steht Jesus Christus auf den geborstenen Toren des Hades, mit sei­ner Rechten Adam am Handgelenk zu sich heraufziehend, in der Linken eine Schriftrolle, Symbol der Predigt an die Toten (1 Petr 3, 19). Hinter Adam die Könige David und Salomo, aber auch Johannes der Täufer, Rufer in der Wüste und Letzter der Propheten. Adam gegenüber Eva, die gleich ihm dem Grab entsteigt und die Vorväter, von Moses angeführt, der die Gesetzestafeln trägt.

Die Stelle aus dem Matthäus-Evangelium (Mt 28, 1-2) „. . . kamen Maria aus Magdala und die andere Maria, um nach dem Grab zu sehen. Plötzlich entstand ein gewaltiges Erd­beben, denn ein Engel des Herrn kam vom Himmel herab, trat an das Grab, wälzte den Stein weg und setzte sich darauf" ist in die untere Ecke gemalt. Gegenüber ist die leibliche Auferstehung Christi dargestellt.

Herum, werden auf Festtagsikonen die Hochfeste dargestellt:

  1. Geburt der Gottesmutter

  2. Tempelgang der Gottesmutter

  3. Die Heilige Dreifaltigkeit (Altes Testament)

  4. Die Verkündigung

  5. Christi Geburt

  6. Darbringung Christi

  7. Taufe Christi

  8. Einzug nach Jerusalem

  9. Verklärung

  10. Himmelfahrt

  11. Entschalfen der Gottesmutter

  12. Die Kreuzerhöhung

Auf erweiterten Festtagsikonen werden noch folgende Festtage dargestellt:

  1. Erweckung des Lazarus

  2. Enthauptung Johannes

  3. Gottesmutter Pokrow

  4. Himmelfahrt Elias

Gegebenenfalls kann auch die Passion und die 4 Evangelisten dargestellt werden.