The Mother of God | Virgin Mary - Antique Russian icons

 

In Russia, the Eleusa, the Mother of God of Tenderness  or Mother of God of Mercy, also one of the oldest types of icons, found widespread use. It is less common in the Byzantine region, although it was created there. It is a representation of the motherly Mary, who bows toward the child, who gently hugs his cheek against hers. Sometimes the child's left hand is also visible, with his arm around the mother's neck. The face of the Mother of God is filled with sorrow, for she knows the future fate of her child.

The most famous Russian variations of this type are the Vladimirskaya, Korsunskaya and the Tolga Mother of Mercy.

 

One of the basic types is the Blachernitissa, named after the Blachernae Church in Constantinople. The Mother of God raises her hands to heaven - it is the original prayer posture of Christians - or she stands upright in the so-called double orant/orante gesture - both hands raised in front of her chest, showing the inner surfaces of the hand to the viewer. Our Lady of Blachernae was greatly venerated in Constantinople. According to legend, Andrew, a "fool for Christ", saw in a vision how the Mother of God spread her veil (called Maphorion in Greek) to protect the people. The best-known Russian variant of the icon of the Mother of God is the "Znamenie" (the "Mother of God of the Sign").

 

Today there are around 300 variants of the icons of the Mother of God. The most important are the Kazanskaya, the Strastnaya and the Otrada.

 

The Kazanskaya is probably the most common of all the icons of the Mother of God in Russia. The archetype is said to have been found in a well by a little girl from Kazan in 1579 after the Blessed Mother appeared to her in a dream and showed her the place where she should dig. The icons of the Kazanskaya type often show only the head of Mother of God, which bends slightly towards the child; the child appears in half-length with a blessing hand.

 

Like the Smolenskaya and Tichwinskaya, who are also named after their place of origin, the Kasanskaya varies the widespread type of the Hodigitria, "the guide". The legend reports that the evangelist Luke painted the first Hodigitria icon. It is said to have come to Constantinople in the 5th century and destroyed by the Turks in 1453. The Mother of God Hodigitria shows herself in a sovereign manner and points to her son in front of the people, whom she embraces with one arm.

Die Gottesmutter | Muttergottesikonen

Antike russische Ikonen

 

In Russland fand die Eleusa, die Gottesmutter der Rührung, auch Gottesmutter des Erbarmens genannt, ebenfalls eine der ältesten Ikonentypen, weite Verbreitung. Weniger häufig trifft man sie im byzantinischen Raum an, obwohl sie dort entstanden ist. Es ist eine Darstellung der mütterlichen Maria, die sich dem Kind zuneigt, das zärtlich seine Wange an die ihre schmiegt. Manchmal wird auch die linke Hand des Kindes sichtbar, das seinen Arm um den Hals der Mutter gelegt hat. Das Gesicht der Mutter ist leiderfüllt: Sie weiß un das künftige Schicksal ihres Kindes.

Die bekanntesten russischen Variationen dieses Typs sind die Wladimirskaja, Korsunskaja und die Tolger Muttergottes des Erbarmens.

 

Zu den Grundtypen gehört die Blachernitissa, so benannt nach der Blachernenkirche in Konstantinopel. Maria erhebt die Hände zum Himmel - es ist die ursprüngliche Gebetshaltung der Christen -, oder sie steht aufrecht im sogenannten Doppelorantengestus - beide Hände vor der Brust erhoben, dem Betrachter die Innenflächen der Hand zeigend. In Konstantinopel wurde die Muttergottes von Blachernae sehr verehrt. Der Legende nach sah Andreas, ein Narr in Christo, in einer Vision, wie die Gottesmutter ihr Schleiertuch (griechisch Maphorion) genannt, als Schutztuch vor dem Volk ausbreitete. Die bekannteste russische Variante der Gottesmutterikone ist die „Znamenie“ (die Gottesmutter des Zeichens).

 

Man unterscheidet heute etwa 300 Varianten der Gottesmutterikonen. Zu den wichtigsten zählen die Kasanskaja, die Strastnaja und die Otrada.

 

Die Kasanskaja ist in Russland von allen Muttergottesikonen wohl am häufigsten anzutreffen. Das Urbild soll von einem kleinen Mädchen aus Kasan 1579 in einem Brunnen gefunden worden sein, nachdem ihm die Gottesmutter im Traum erschienen war und ihr die Stelle gezeigt hatte, wo sie graben sollte. Die Ikonen des Kasanskajatyps zeigen häufig nur den Kopf der Muttergottes, der sich leicht dem Kinde zuneigt; das Kind erscheint in Halbfigur mit segnender Hand.

 

Wie die Smolenskaja und Tichwinskaja, die ebenfalls nach ihrem Herkunftsort benannt sind, variiert die Kasanskaja den weit verbreiteten Typ der Hodigitria, der Wegführerin. Die Legende berichtet, dass der Evangelist Lukas das erste Hodigitrienbild gemalt habe. Es soll im 5.Jahrhundert nach Konstantinopel gekommen und 1453 von den Türken vernichtet worden sein. Die Gottesmutter Hodigitria zeigt sich in herrscherlicher Haltung und weist vor dem Volk auf ihren Sohn hin, den sie mit einem Arm umfasst.