Saint Archangel Michael - The Angels - Antique Russian icons

 

Angels are messengers of God. In the Eastern Church the angels are closer to God than the saints, they are divine from the beginning. In art they are depicted with wings that symbolize their quick obedience, with a halo, staff and palm branches.​ The Eastern Church divided the angels into a supernatural hierarchy, similar to the hierarchical order at the Byzantine imperial court. At the top are eight archangels. Scripture names three: Michael, Gabriel and Raphael. The first two can be found most frequently on depictions of the Eastern Church.

 

The name Michael comes from Hebrew and means: Who is God? Michael is the leader of the angels and is therefore equipped with sword, lance and cross for the fight against the diabolical forces. On some icons he holds the soul scales in his hand (he weighs souls) and blows the horn to proclaim the Last Judgment.

 

The name Gabriel means strength of God. Michael is the angel of the final decision, i.e. the end, while Gabriel is the angel of the beginning and becoming, of birth. He was the angel who announced the birth of Jesus to Mary. While Michael usually appears in knightly clothing, Gabriel usually wears a simple robe. His attribute is the lily as a symbol of purity, but often also the staff of the cross or the scepter, symbols of heavenly power.

 

The fact that the two archangels Michael and Gabriel are often depicted in intercessory gestures on the iconostasis - but also on individual icons - to the right and left of the Deesis, the main image, shows their importance.

 

Images from the early Byzantine period show angels of great, unearthly beauty, with soft, even, expressive features; Gold threads run through the hair, and the headband is adorned with a gemstone. In the 12th and 13th centuries, and even later, the angels take on a threatening character and are depicted as gigantic figures.

 

The name Raffael means: God heals. Raphael is the angel of salvation and redemption. As a trinity, the three archangels symbolize the Holy Trinity: Michael - God the Father, Raphael - Son of God and Gabriel - Holy Spirit. Often they also hold a ball with the letters IC (Jesus Christ) in their hands.

 

Cherubim and Seraphim - both are known from the Old Testament - are two of the nine angel choirs that are often found as a whole choir or as individual icons on icons, which then represent the entirety of the angels. The cherubim are the angels of wisdom; they have four wings. In the early days they were only shown as heads with wings, later in full shape, often in blue.

 

The seraph, the "ember fan", is a symbol of the light and embers of the divine fire. It has six wings: it covers its face with two wings, its feet with two and flies with two. Seraphim are mostly shown in red.

Heiliger Erzengel Michael, der Reiter der Apokalypse

 

Engel sind Sendboten Gottes. In der Ostkirche stehen die Engel Gott näher als die Heiligen, sie sind von Anbeginn gött­lichen Wesens. In der Kunst werden sie dargestellt mit Flügeln, die ihren schnellen Gehorsam symbolisieren, mit Heiligenschein, Stab und Palmenzweigen. Die Ostkirche teilte die Engel in eine überirdische Hierarchie ein, ähnlich der hierarchischen Ordnung am byzantinischen Kaiserhof. An oberster Stelle stehen acht Erzengel. Die Heilige Schrift nennt drei namentlich: Michael, Gabriel und Raffael. Am häufigsten sind die beiden ersten auf ostkirchlichen Darstellungen zu finden.

 

Der Name Michael kommt aus dem Hebräischen und bedeutet: Wer ist Gott? Michael ist der Anführer der Engelschar und daher mit Schwert, Lanze und Kreuz für den Kampf gegen die teuflischen Mächte ausgestattet. Auf manchen Ikonen hält er die Seelenwaage in der Hand (er wägt die Seelen) und bläst ins Horn zur Verkündung des Jüngsten Gerichts.

 

Der Name Gabriel bedeutet Stärke Gottes. Michael ist der Engel der letzten Entscheidung, also des Endes, Gabriel dagegen der Engel des Anfangs und des Werdens, der Geburt. Er war der Engel, der Maria die Geburt Jesu verkündete. Während Michael meist in ritterlicher Kleidung erscheint, trägt Gabriel gewöhnlich ein einfaches Gewand. Sein Attribut ist die Lilie als Symbol der Reinheit, oft aber auch der Kreuzesstab oder das Zepter, Symbole himmlischer Macht.

 

Das die beiden Erzengel Michael und Gabriel häufig auf der Ikonostase - aber auch auf Einzelikonen - rechts und links neben der Deesis, dem Hauptbild, in für­bittender Gebärde dargestellt sind, zeigt ihre Bedeutsamkeit.

 

Bildwerke aus frühbyzantinischer Zeit zeigen Engel von großer, unirdischer Schönheit, mit weichen, ebenmäßigen, ausdrucksstarken Zügen; Goldfäden durch­ziehen das Haar, und das Stirnband ziert ein Edelstein. Im 12. und 13. Jahrhundert, und auch später noch nehmen die Engel einen bedrohlichen Charakter an und werden als riesige Gestalten dargestellt.

 

Der Name Raffael bedeutet: Gott heilt. Raffael ist der Heil- und Erlöserengel. Als Dreiheit symbolisieren die drei Erzengel die Heilige Dreieinigkeit: Michael - Gottvater, Raffael - Gottsohn und Gabriel - Heiliger Geist. Häufig halten sie auch eine Kugel mit den Buchstaben IC (Jesus Christus) in der Hand.

 

Cherubim und Seraphim - beide kennt das Alte Testament - sind zwei der neun Engelchöre, die man häufig als ganzen Chor oder als einzelne auf Ikonen findet, die dann die Gesamtheit der Engel vertreten. Die Cherubim sind die Engel der Weisheit; sie haben vier Flügel. In der Frühzeit wurden sie nur als Köpfe mit Flügeln wiedergegeben, später in voller Gestalt, oft in Blau.

 

Der Seraph, der „Glutentfacher“, ist ein Symbol des Lichts und der Glut des göttlichen Feuers. Er ist sechsflügelig: mit zwei Flügeln bedeckt er sein Gesicht, mit zweien die Füße und mit zweien fliegt er. Seraphim sind meistens rot dargestellt.