Orthodox icon | Three Saints | 24725

Russian icon

41.5 x 34.5 cm | 16.3 x 13.6 in

19th century

Antike original russische Ikone aus dem 19. Jahrhundert.


Saint Martyr Menas of Egypt (November 11) was a soldier, but then withdrew as a hermit to the desert and later suffered his martyrdom in 304. As a soldier he was stationed in Phrygia and when ordered to seize Christians who opposed the imperial decrees, he deserted. After years of asceticism, he publicly admitted to Christianity and was martyred.

Saint Martyr Victor (November 11) came from Italy and was a Roman soldier at the time of Emperor Antoninus (138-161). When he was transferred to Damascus, he was charged for his Christian beliefs. After being tortured for a long time, he died a martyr.

Saint Hieromartyr/Protomartyr Vincent of Saragossa (November 11) came from Huesca in Spain and was a student of Bishop Valerius of Saragossa who ordained him as a deacon. At the beginning of the Diocletian persecution (303/304) he was arrested and tried in Valencia. He freely confessed his faith in Christ and was cruelly tortured. He remained steadfast until his last breath and thus won the crown of the blood of the Lord. He is the most venerated martyr in Spain.


Carved border with four icons:


Above left: Saint Emperor Constantine the Great (May 21) was Roman Emperor from 306 to 337. The “Constantinian shift” initiated by him, with which the rise of Christianity to the most important religion in the Roman Empire began, was very momentous. In 313, the Milan Agreement guaranteed religious freedom throughout the empire, which also allowed Christianity, which had until then been persecuted. In the following years Constantine privileged Christianity. In 325 he called the First Council of Nicaea.

Above right: Saint Helena (May 21) was the mother of Saint Emperor Constantine. According to the legend of the saints, Helena initiated excavations, during which, among other things, remains of the cross of Christ and the site of the Holy Sepulcher were found. Helena had the remains of Christ’s cross divided into three parts. One part of the cross remained in Jerusalem; one part was taken to Rome; and the last part was sent to her son to Constantinople.

Bottom left: Saint Michael, the Archangel (November 8)

Bottom right: Saint Gabriel, the Archangel (March 26, November 8)

Haben Sie noch Fragen? Buchen Sie einen Termin!
[ivory-search id="15520" title="Default Search Form"]